Scholarship of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia for female media artists

Scholarship of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia for female media artists

Ani Schulze, Flint House Lizard_Installationsansicht_Kunstverein Siegen_2021_Foto Simon Vogel

Ani Schulze Flint House Lizard, Installation view Kunstverein Siegen, 2021 Foto: Simon Vogel

Call for Projects 2024 und 2025

Deadline: May 28, 2024

The Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia is awarding a scholarship for female media artists for the years 2024 and 2025. The aim of the scholarship is to promote the development of new work and to give the artist the freedom to try out new artistic methods and approaches. The prerequisite is that the artist is resident in North Rhine-Westphalia, plans to realise a new project and applies online with a corresponding concept by 28 May 2024. There are no thematic requirements for the submission. The scholarship is not tied to a residency requirement and there is no age limit for applications. The call for applications is aimed at freelance, professional female artists as individuals. The first scholarship begins on 1 July 2024, the second on 1 January 2025.

About the scholarship:
The scholarships for female media artists from North Rhine-Westphalia have been awarded since 2000. The scholarship holder receives support totalling 6,000 euros for six months as well as a sum of 1,660 euros for materials. The artist will therefore receive a total of 7,660 euros. Payment will be made in two installments (September/November 2024 and March/May 2025). An expert jury will decide on the award of the grant.

Female media artists with residence in North Rhine-Westphalia can apply using the online form. The online form is only available in German language. If you wish to apply but are not fluent in German, please contact us via the contact details below.

Contact us for questions via:
T: +49 (0) 231 -1373 4212

Previous scholarship holders:
Ani Schulze (2022/23), Sophia Bauer (2021), Julia Weißenberg (2020), Vanja Smiljanić (2019), Nico Joana Weber (2018), Pauline M’barek (2017), Vera Drebusch (2016), Céline Berger (2015), Marianna Christofides (2014), Verena Seibt / Clea Stracke (2013), Denise Ritter (2012), Kerstin Ergenzinger (2011), Tina Tonagel (2010), Agnes Meyer-Brandis (2009), Susanne Weirich (2008), Rena Tangens (2007), Anne Pöhlmann (2006), Rosa Barba (2005), Philine Sollmann (2004), Aurelia Mihai (2003), Anja Kreysing (2002), Bettina Lockemann (2001), Ilona Johanna Plattner (2000)

The scholarship is supervised by the Office (based at HMKV Hartware MedienKunstVerein) in Dortmund.